Visiting Toad

When I’m mowing I always try to watch for where I’m going.

Spotted this fellow hopping out of my path.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Naturally, what you do in this situation is you share him then with your kids and let him go somewhere safer. 🙂

I’m not sure the order of who saw the toad when, but I’ll present them in birth order.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s important to us that ‘even our girls’ be exposed to the fellow. This is science, not something gross or ‘boys only’.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t mean to turn this into a ‘girl power’ rant or something, but look at Newbie’s face.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She’s fascinated, not grossed out. Grossed out is a taught response, and it’s one that none of the kids have received.

The toad’s coloration is rather pretty. There are so many things that, if you don’t stop and take the time to look and admire, are simply going to pass you by.

-FF

Leave a Reply

