Blast From the Past

When I moved from the town I met Redflare to the town I eventually graduated high school from I was a sophomore in high school.

I’ve always looked older than I was, and since the schools handled classes differently that meant that I ended up in a couple of freshman classes, a couple of junior classes, and a couple of sophomore classes to slowly get my credits back in order.

One of those strange juniors I immediately befriended was Ms. Fish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Her husband had some work related thing in the Twin Cities so the whole family was able to come North and stop by.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We finally got to introduce her to all our kids, even TJ.

The kids were in rare form during the visit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t think they quite understood the significance of us finally getting to see each other after all these years.

Ms. Fish was instrumental in helping me rescue Redflare in 2001 when she was kicked out of her house, sharing some winter supplies, clothes, and finding a place for her to live while I was still in the college dorms.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Little Baby Fish there was a long time coming for them. It was wonderful getting to celebrate and follow along on their adventure of having her and we’ve kept in touch over social media.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was strange holding little Baby Fish, she felt extremely tiny and fragile compared to my little ones.

She didn’t seem to know what to do about my beard, even with Ms Fish’s coaxing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s hoping that it doesn’t take another long time to meet up. It’d be really neat for all the kids to remember each other and Mr and Ms Fish.

-FF

Leave a Reply

